Under the Government of India Act, 1935, the Federal Court had:

  1. Original Jurisdiction
  2. Appellate Jurisdiction
  3. Advisory Jurisdiction

  Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

Government of India Act, 1935 provided for the establishment of Federal Court in India. The Federal Court got three kinds of jurisdictions:

  1. Original
  2. Appellate
  3. Advisory

The Original Jurisdiction was confined to disputes between Units of the Dominion or between the Dominion and any of the units. The Court exercised appellate jurisdiction in constitutional cases. The Federal Court was empowered to give advisory opinion to the Governor-General.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module