Consider the following political leaders:

  1. Madan Mohan Malviya
  2. Rajendra Prasad
  3. B.R. Ambedkar

  Which of the above signed the Poona Pact?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

In 1932, the Britishers announced 'The Communal Award' which was considered as one of the tools of divide and rule in India. To protest against it, Mahatma Gandhi went on a hunger strike and objected to the provision of separate electorates for the Dalits. An agreement was signed on September 24, 1932 between Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar and Mahatma Gandhi and some Dalit leaders at Yerwada Central Jail in Pune, to break Mahatma Gandhi’s fast unto death. Madan Mohan Malviya, Rajendra Prasad & B.R. Ambedkar signed the Poona Pact.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module