Consider the following pairs:

  1. Adi Brahmo Samaj→ Maharishi Devendranath Tagore
  2. Bhartiya Brahmo Samaj→ Keshav Chandra Sen
  3. Prarthana Samaj→  Atmaram Panduranga

   Which of the above is/are correct?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

After the death of Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Brahmo Samaj was divided into several sects. Maharishi Devendra Nath Tagore established the Adi Brahmo Samaj and Keshav Chandra Sen established the “Adi Brahmo Samaj”. Prarthana Samaj was founded by Atmaram Panduranga with the help of Keshav Chandra Sen in 1867, with an aim to make people believe in one God and worship only one God.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module