Consider the following pairs:

  1. Varnashrama-dharma→ Indus Valley Civilization
  2. Saptanga Theory→ Arthashastra
  3. Mitakshara law→ Inheritance by birth

Which of the above is/are correct?

Answer: [C] 2 & 3 Only

Varnashrama-dharma can be defined as the duties performed according to the system of four varnas (social divisions) and four ashrams (stages in life). Saptanga Theory has been mentioned in Arthashastra and it includes all the seven organs of the state viz. Swamin— the King, Amatya—the Minister, Janapada—the Land, and the People, Durga—the Fortress, Kosha—the Treasury, Danda—the Army and Mitra—the Allies.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module