Consider the following pairs:

  1. First Buddhist Council→ Rajgir
  2. Second Buddhist Council→ Vaishali
  3. Third Buddhist Council→ Pataliputra 

   Which of the above is/are correct?

Answer: [D] 1, 2 & 3

The first Buddhist Council was held soon after the death of the Buddha dated around 400 BCE, under the patronage of king Ajatashatru at Sattapanni caves in Rajgir. The Second Buddhist Council was held approximately 100 years after the death of the Buddha. It was held at Vaishali, an ancient city in Bihar.The Third Buddhist Council was convened by the Mauryan king Ashoka at Pataliputra.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module