Consider the following pairs of mathas established by Adi Shankaracharya with states where they are located:

  1. Jyotiramatha→ Uttarakhand
  2. Sharadapitha→ Gujarat
  3. Govardhanamatha→ Odisha
  4. Shringerimatha→ Karnataka

 Which of the above are correct?

Answer: [D] 1, 2, 3 & 4

Adi Shankaracharya was a religious leader who propounded the philosophy of Advaita. He established four Mathas, Jyotiramatha in Badrinath, Uttarakhand, Sharadapitha in Dwarika, Gujarat, and Shringerimatha in Karnataka and Govardhanamatha in Puri, Odisha. He established them in four corners of the country with an objective to protect Indian culture, propagate Vedic philosophy and strengthen the unity of India.

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module