Which of the following islands has/have been declared as “Hope Spots” by the IUCN (International Union for Conservation of Nature)?

  1. Andaman & Nicobar Islands
  2. Lakshadweep Islands
  3. Majuli Island

Select the correct option from codes given below:

Answer: [A] 1 & 2 Only

A hope spot is an area of an ocean that needs special protection because of its wildlife and significant underwater habitats.  The Andaman and Nicobar and the Lakshadweep islands have been designated as 'Hope Spots' by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) in 2013. The two islands are the first spots in India to be named hope spots and part of 31 new spots across the world in addition to the existing 19 hope spots. 

This question is a part of GKToday's Integrated IAS General Studies Module